Adult Chullo Hat

Made with Plymouth Alpaca Dk in Black and grey (actually, the grey is another dk alpaca brand that I cannot recall right now, but it was way too fuzzy)

Size 5 dpns and circs

Gauge: 6 1/2 stitches per inch

Ear flaps: Cast on 8 stitches, purl 1st row, kfb of 1st and last row on each knit row until 28 stitches then make 8 more rows in stockinette (4 k and 4 p rows)

Adding the rest of the hat: Joining to make 1st round: at the end of 2nd ear flap cast on 46 new stitches and knit on other ear flap then cast on 26 more stitches for 128 stitches total.

I used a pattern by jessica tromp for the color work, but I can’t find the chart I used, seing as how I printed it up probably 2 years ago.

Knit in the round until hat is 5.5 inches long then begin decreases as follows: divide hat into 4 equal sections and k2tog at beginning and end of each section until 8 stitches remain.

I felt the hat was a teensy bit big, so I felted it the slightest bit in the sink and blocked it.

bills-chullo-1 bills-chullo-2

I think the black and grey combo look really good on him, nothing ostentatious or overly colorful, just a nice traditional pattern in a very warm material.  He even took it out at a party to show off to everyone, because he really thought it was awesome.

This is not the last knit of the year, there is an ugly dog sweater too, I need to send it down to my mom who has “offered my services” to her friends with small dogs.  i thought she wanted me to make them in the 3 days she was here, which is insane, but fortunately she didn’t expect that, because I was still working on the hat above.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.

6 thoughts on “Adult Chullo Hat

Leave a comment