The Best Peanut Brittle Recipe Ever

20111221-223558.jpg

I have the best peanut brittle recipe ever. I have been using it for 3 years (I think) and have always received compliments for it. The reason this brittle is so amazing us because it is airy, light, fluffy and melts in your mouth. This recipe is not mine, I did not make it, it is from the back of a Gurley’s Golden Recipe bag of Spanish peanuts.
I’m actually posting this on my blog so that if there is a shortage of peanuts next year I can use any brand to make the brittle (although Gurley’s really are a better quality that others I have tried)

Materials: 4 quart saucepan, measuring cups and spoons, a wooden spoon for stirring, candy thermometer, greased cookie sheet
Ingredients: 1 cup corn syrup (I use light), I cup sugar, 1tbsp butter, 1/4 tsp salt. 2 cups raw Spanish peanuts (I sometimes substitute raw almonds roughly chopped) and 2 tsp fresh baking soda (the fresher the fluffier the brittle)
Directions: Grease cookie sheet and set aside. Combine the corn syrup, sugar, butter, and salt n the pan and cook over warm until the sugar looks kinda dissolved. Add the peanuts and keep stirring Neil the whole thing gets to 290 degrees (or until a drop of it gets crunchy if you drop it not a bowl of cool water) then take it off the stove and add the baking soda. Stir the baking soda in o it all foams up and then pour it onto the greased cookie sheet and let it cool.
Once it’s cool break it up and give it to the people you love.

The reason this is so great is that the baking soda makes it foam up and there are all these little air bubbles in it so it’s not overly hard to bite into or break up. Some peanut brittle is like trying to eat shards of glass and this is so much nicer.

I hope you all give this a try and enjoy it as much as I do. Thanks to Gurley’s for publishing this originally on their bags.

3 thoughts on “The Best Peanut Brittle Recipe Ever

Leave a comment