Darby gets a new sweater

When you live in Washington and have a chihuahua that weighs less than a sack of flour (she’s a mere puff of air at 2.5 lbs), making her fancy new sweaters is a must. So today Darby got a new sweater.

darby-in-a-sweater-2.jpgdarby-in-sweater-3.jpg

10.5 needles Double Pointed

Bulky yarn (I used Lion Brand Homespun, in an effort to get rid of my stash)

Cast on 24 30 stitches and distribute over 3 needles. Knit in a 1×1 rib for 3 inches (I did 2 and it seems a little short).

To make leg holes: knit 6 stitches, cast off the next 8 stitches, knit 2 stitches (that’s going to be between her 2 front legs) cast off 8 more stitches, knit to end of row. What you’ll have on your needles now will be 6 stitches on 1 needle, 2 on the next, 6 on the last. This way your little Darby will have room for her legs, without it being too tight around them)

Next row, continue on 1×1 rib. When you get to where you cast off those 8 stitches, cast on 8 new ones, knit the 2 stitches that go next, cast on 8 more and knit the remaining stitches. Whew, you should be back up to 24 30 stitches now. Continue knitting in 1×1 rib for 4 inches then switch to 2×2 ribbing for the last inch or two. Cast off. (you can use a regular cast off, but if you search for the 3 needle cast off, you can get a stretchier edge)

Finished! I hope your little Darby loves it as much as mine does. Send me pictures!

18 thoughts on “Darby gets a new sweater

  1. I think there is a mistake in this pattern. You say cast on 24, then cast off 8 and 8, which leaves 8, but you say I should have 6, 2 and 6 left, then cast on 8 and 8 again, which would give me 30.

    I did the cast off 8 and 8, and casted back on 8 and 8 where I took them off, to make leg holes, but I’m not sure it will work out.

    Is this just one big tube with two leg holes?

  2. Your right! I will have to correct the pattern once I find the sweater. Here is an errata until I change it
    1. CO 30 sts and proceed with pattern
    OR
    when you get to cast off 8 sts for each leg, reduce it to 5 sts. I suspect this one may have leg holes that are too tight, so go with the 1st suggestion and as long as the tube is ribbed, it should fit ok.

    By the way, my little Darby is now a whopping 3lbs 1oz!

  3. Thanks, I’ll give this a try. Please post any other patterns you may have, because I’m really having trouble finding things I like and that fit. My little puppy, Chica is 3 1/2 months old and she weighs 2 1/2 lbs. She needs something warm for the winter.

  4. Pingback: New hat, and a puppy sweater « Queta Knits

  5. hi! well…. I have a 6 week old puppy (she’s officially 6 weeks today) and I can’t get this pattern to quite work since I don’t have 10 1/2 dpn…
    AND anyway… my puppy only weighs 1 pound at the most… what do I do?

  6. Hi Jennifer,
    I recommend my Ruffled Sweater pattern, in the larger size. I’ll put my mind to it and see if I can’t come up with a larger pattern without ruffles in the mean time.
    Autumnblossom

  7. This is adorable, and I really like your other designs too. My mom just got a chihuahua this spring and now that the cold months are coming up here in the midwest, she’s pestering me to knit something to keep the little girl warm. I think these are going to be perfect!

  8. Any chance you can post a schematic and the gauge you use for your patterns? I’m awaiting the arrival of my little darling (8 weeks old!) and trying to figure out something that might fit her because winter has hit Alaska already. 😦 We’ve had our first real snowfall and everything..yuck.

  9. Hi!

    Do you have a dog sweater pattern that would accommodate a male Chihuahua? Longer on his back, but shorter on his front? So, that the sweater stays out of the way when he wets?

    Thanks.

  10. hi do u have a pattern for a dog weighing 1lb 2oz yes his name is vegas .he is avery cute chihuahua my daughter surprised us last week thank you so much

  11. I’m knitting the sweater for the 5 lb. Chi, instead of st. st for 4 inches, I’m knitting k 1 p 1 for 2 inches then starting the chest increases. This is really a nice sweater pattern you’ve posted : )

  12. Hi Autumnblossom-
    Many thanks for posting these terrific chihuahua sweaters. I have a 5.5 lb male chihuahua, and have been looking for a pattern that will work for his frame. I’m excited to try this! Thanks for figuring everything out and posting it.

  13. Hello–So pleased to have found your site! I have recently acquired a “grand dog” 3-lb. chihuahua female who loves clothes and I want to knit and sew her some little coats and sweaters. Question: What gauge (stitches per inch) do you use for most of your patterns? You may have it listed here, but I’m not seeing it. Thanks!

  14. Hi, does this pattern work for an 3lb+ pup? if so great!! this will be my pups first winter…its autumn already and she shivers once i step out the door…hoping a sweater will help!

    • Hmm, I would suggest going up a size or two in both the yarn and the needle to make it big enough for larger than 3 lbs. If you want to keep the same size yarn and needles I would suggest adding 4 stitches to the cast on (which will make it about an inch larger) and increase each of the legs by 2 stitches for larger leg holes. Hope that helps!

Leave a comment