Christmas Chihuahua Sweater

Merry Christmas

Someone recently asked for a chihuahua sweater for a male dog.  As requested, here it is.  It’s cut up away from the belly on the bottom so that the boys can do their business without soiling the hem of the sweater.

I will not be including instructions for the color work, only because I’ve had enough pattern writing today.

oh yeah, all the important stuff:

Lion Brand Wool-Ease in Red Sprinkle (I’m going to guess 60 yards or 1/3 of a skein), size 6 double pointed needles, needle to sew in ends, smooth waste yarn (for 2nd version, a small amount of contrasting yarn)

gauge: about 5 stitches to the inch

I’m writing the same pattern twice and leaving out the color work.  The first version is row by row.  If you don’t need all that, the short and simple version is at the bottom.

Disclaimer: I am not a professional pattern writer.  I just have a small dog who is cold.  Please don’t be rude about correcting my work or asking me to rewrite it for your 100lb dog (no offense to 100lb dogs, but I don’t buy that much yarn at a time).

darby-red-sweater-1

The long version:

Cast on 40 stitches, distribute over 3 needles

Knit 1×1  ribbing for 3 ”

Knit 2, kfb, k34, kfb, k2 (now you have 42 stitches on the needles)

knit 3, kfb, k34, kfb, k3

knit 4, kfb, k34, kfb, k4

knit 5, kfb, k34, kfb, k5

knit 6, kfb, k34, kfb, k6

knit 7, kfb, k34, kfb, k7

knit 8, kfb, k34, kfb, k8

knit 9, kfb, k34, kfb, k9

knit 10, kfb, k34, kfb, k10

knit 11, kfb, k34, kfb, k11

knit 12, kfb, k34, kfb, k12 (62 stitches total)

Arm holes

on next row knit 7, knit 7 on waste yarn, knit around to last 14 stitches, knit 7 on waste yarn, knit 7 with regular yarn.

Knit in stockinette (knit around) until body is 3″ long from arm holes

cast off last 10 stitches of next row

cast of 1st 10 stitches of the new row, k1, k2 tog, knit 36, k2 tog, k1

purl next row (sweater is now being worked flat)

knit 1, k2 tog, k34, k2tog, k1

purl next row

k1, k2tog, k32, k2tog, k1

purl

k1, k2tog, k30, k2tog, k1

purl

k1, k2tog, k28, k2tog, k1

purl

k1, k2tog, k26, k2tog, k1

purl

k1, k2tog, k24, k2tog, k1, don’t purl back! Pick up 20 stitches evenly around the cast off edge so you have 48 stitches.

do k1p1 ribbing for 1 inch and cast off.

Sleeves; remove the waste yarn and pick up the stitches.  In between the 2 rows grab a loop and twist it so that you don’t have a gap in the sleeves.  Do 1×1 ribbing around for 1 inch.

Sew in your ends and admire your work.

darby-red-sweater-2

The short version, without all the row-by-row stuff.

cast on 40 sts, divide onto needles as follows, 10 on 1st needle, 20 on 2nd needles, 10 on 3rd needle. Join and knit in k1p1 ribbing for 3″ for turtleneck or 1.5 inches for crew neck, on last row place marker after 3rd stitch and before last 3 stitches.

Increasing for the body

Knit first 2 stitches, knit front and back of stitch before marker, knit around, knit front and back of stitch right after the last marker (you will have 42 stitches now).  repeat 10 more times for 62 stitches.

Leg holes and body

On next row, knit 7 sts with red, knit 7 stitches with waste yarn (that should take you to the stitch marker), knit around to the next stitch marker, knit 7 in waste yarn and then 7 in red.  Knit until body measures 3″ long from armholes.  On next row knit around and cast off last 10 stitches and 1st 10 stitches of next row.  Finish that row by knitting 1, k2tog, knit across to last 3 stitches, k2tog, k1.  Purl the next row.  Continue decreasing by knitting 1, k2tog at the beginning and k2tog, k1 at the end and purling back (so you have stockinette) 7 times total.  at the end of the last knit row, continue by picking up 20 stitches around the body and knit 1″ of 1×1 ribbing.

Finishing up (sleeves)

Pull out the waste yarn and pick up 14 stitches plus 2 extra loops on each side so you don’t get a big gap. k1p1 ribbing for 1″

Sew in all ends and admire your work.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.

31 thoughts on “Christmas Chihuahua Sweater

  1. I just wanted to leave a comment telling you Thanks so much for the cute sweater patterns. We just got our first Chihuahua and she is a mere 1 pound. She gets cold from the slightest puff of air. You can see her photo on my blog.

    Anyway, I just wanted to say Thanks a bunch!!

  2. I would like a pattern for a dog sweater, for a toy poodle, male about 8-10 lbs.. BUT I havn’t masterd the double needles yet..I have a heck of a time with them.. But with longer legs in the front??? any chance of something like that…Alos maybe some booties for him. He’s about 9 yrs. old and has problems climbing back up the steps, cause he gets so cold. We live in Elkhat, Ind.. Thanks so much for any help..Thank youeth

  3. I just want to say thanks my yorkie mix is 13lb and had 7 puppies in Nov 08 so they were pretty small. and as a going to a new home present I made them each a small sweater to go home in. the tiny little things were any where from 2.2lb and 3lb when they went to thier new homes in Jan 09 on some of the coldest days we had in the Ottawa valley so the little sweaters kept them nice and warm. So Thanks again for your time and effort in putting these paterns together.

  4. I knitted a sweater for my grand-nephew’s girlfriend’s chihuahua using your cable pattern. Both females are happy with the sweater. Coco used to bark at me and was skittish whenever I made a move. Butl, I guess she smells me on her sweater and she let me pet her. I want to knit more sweaters for her and I’ll try this one with the Christmas design. M.

  5. Hi, This may sound a silly question, but the needle sizes you have stated are they US sizes or GB sizes. I am really looking forward to knitting some of these jumpers for my friends new little pup. Thanks Carolyn

  6. Hi I have just now found your page after months of trying the knit shops here in the UK and at last I have a pattern that meets all my requirement.
    in Uk sizes what size are the knitting needles and is it equivalent to our double knit wool
    Once again thank you so much A/ FOR ALL THE WORK YOU PUT IN
    b/for being so kind as to let it be free in this day and age its a rare commodity
    I await your reply with eagerness
    PS/ iM JUST A BEGINNER KNITTER SO PLEASE WISH ME LUCK thanks Mo Brookes

    • I recommend a 5mm needle and wool that is aran, worsted, or afghan. Those are the descriptions that I found on the wool council website and am hoping those are the same for you. I too prefer to work with dk weight but it is harder to find here. if you do work with dk I would recommend moving up to a 5.5mm needle. Best of luck to you!

  7. oh no! i am sorry someone was rude to you! I completely appreciate yhat you are doing here, believe me! My 7lb min pin/ chihuahua mix is very cold too and that is why i was looking for any long pattern that covers her bum bum, with leg holes, and with a collar that goes up her neck when it is blizzardy! not a good time to have to poo poo! it is hard to find the correct size! i am teaching myself to knit and crochet so she will be warm. most patterns are for round dogs like a pug in her size, but she not that round! just longer with a slightly bigger chest. leg holes seem to be placed too far back quite often with a short coat and huge girth.! thanks people!

  8. Thank you so much for the pattern I plan on knitting some for a special friend who presented me with my first chihuahua.

  9. Want to thank you for the cute sweater with the ruffles. I appreciate the fact that it is knitted in the round, because I am highly allergeric to sewing !!!
    I knitted it in a red,green and white sparkle yarn and it is really cute for x-mas. Could you write the pattern in the next size (larger)?
    Thanks a million,
    Maxine

      • Thanks so much for you speedy reply. I am now hooked on knitting dog sweaters for charity auctions.I don’t even own a dog,but,I have a lot of time on my hands.Dog sweaters don’t take much time so that I don’t get bored !
        Maxine

  10. I’m trying to make the xmas chihuahua sweater, this is my first sweater & i’m really struggling with what you are saying for the arm holes. It’s my first time using waste yarn & everything i find online is cast on w/waste yarn. since this is in the middle of the pattern, i’m not sure what i’m supposed to do. So i basically just knit 7 sts w/a diff color, to find the spot again, but then the next step is to knit in stockinette around for 3 inchs. so what do i do when i get back to the “waste” part, skip it, knit it, and then pull out later?? I hope you can help, i am so excited to do this pattern & i just can’t figure out what to do next.

  11. I am trying to do the xmas sweater, this is my first sweater. I am struggling with the arm holes. I also haven’t ever used waste yarn. All the videos i’ve seen for waste yarn are doing it as a cast on, your’s is in the middle of a pattern. So i just knitted 7 sts w/the waste yarn – diff color so i can find it later, But then on the next step is to stockinette around for 3 in. If i do that, what do i do when i get to the 7 “waste” sts. Skip them, knit them, & then remove the “waste” later?? Please help, i’m super excited to do this pattern. Thanks

  12. HI there…I thought this pattern would be a good one to get back into knitting. I have gotten away from it for years but I am stuck now. I decided to do this sweater on circular kneedles. I think i somehow lost where the start is. The leg holes are centred where I was increasing. I have just finished the 3 inches beyond the arm holes in stockingette. I have a couple of questions: when I cast off the 10 stitches, where will that be on the body? close to the leg holes? right after casting off the second set of 10 stitches, pattern says sweater is now being worked flat.. I am so close to finishing, please help!! Thanks so much..
    p.s i have scoured the net looking for patterns, i just got a chihuahua 2 weeks ago and your site is the best!!!!

    • Hmm, 2.5 pounds. She was full grown. It was tight around the neck because I made the turtle neck part so long. The ribbing was fine, it was just too much neck. I actually made this one in an attempt to make a male dog friends pattern because Darby is a girl and doesn’t do that whole “lifting the leg” thing that male dogs do, so her sweaters can go back onto her haunches without a mess happening.

  13. Pingback: Christmas Knitting Patterns

  14. I volunteer for a no-kill rescue. I adore your sweater patterns and can’t tell you how many I have whipped up for precious little babies! But now, I am trying to make a light-weight muscle shirt for a chihuahua to wear here in Georgia where it gets really hot. The owner suggested crochet thread but my fingers ache at the thought of it. Wouldn’t it rub under the chi’s little arms? Do you know of anything I could use?
    Ann

    • Wow, what an awesome idea for a shirt. Crocheting it with thread would be so tough on your fingers… Really, I would try making one of a men’s athletic sock and just sew it. Or try a baby yarn perhaps, that wouldn’t rub. If you make the front leg holes wide enough it shouldn’t rub in the joint area. Think of something maybe more like a reverse racer back tank top.
      In the mean time, here is a chihuaua on a tank top.

Leave a comment