Bob’s Hat Pattern

Here is the pattern for Bob’s hat.  It is meant to fit an average male head, but I didn’t pack extra yarn in my carry-on, so I’m modifying it for you all to make a better length.

Size 5 16″ round needles and dpn’s

Worsted weight yarn (I use Lion Brand Wool-ease in Blue Mist)

 

 Term: MiniCable Knit into 2nd stitch on left needle and without taking stitch off needle knit into 1st stitch, then take them both off the needle.  You’ll have a little cable.  There are a variety of explanations here too.

 

C/O 104 sts loosely.  Join.

Knit in a k2, p2 rib for 2″

MiniCable Round: MiniCable the knit sts and purl the purl sts.  Knit 4 rounds, Repeat until hat is 8″ high (9 for men)

Begin Decrease.  While decreasing continue to follow minicable pattern whenever possible.  Divide sts evenly on 4 needles (26 sts on each needle).  K2 tog at the beginning and end of each section. Continue until 8 sts are left, thread yarn through sts and close off.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.

3 thoughts on “Bob’s Hat Pattern

  1. I found you! You have a great site, I really like how you’ve used the space. I have an awful lot to learn.

    Love your hat, I actually might make one for one of my boys — we’ll see if they love it or roll their eyes – I never can tell. Darby’s adorable, he’d probably either rule the roost around my two, or they’d have them for appetizer!!

    Happy knitting from 23 degree Minnesota!

  2. I have downloaded your Bob’s patter which is beautiful. I knit hats for my grandaughter who lives in Chicago and I know she will love this one. Thank you so very much for sharing your pattern.

Leave a comment