Lake Tahoe February Lady Beret

While up in Tahoe, before electing to walk down stairs wearing socks and break my tailbone, I started making a February Lady Beret (free pattern link to sock pixie) with some yarn I had originally purchased to make the awesome baby mohawk hat a couple posts back.  Anyway, the original February beret was done in something like a double knit yarn (like smaller than worsted weight) and my yarn was thicker than regular worsted yarn, so I did some magic math in my head and cast on.

Now, if that had worked I would have had a finished beret by my second day in Tahoe.  *snort* I mean really, does measuring and using my mad algebraic skills really every work the first time?  Maybe, but this time it was not to be.  I finished the ribbed part of the hat, which looked great, and using basic algebra again, did increases around the edge to being the number up to create enough stitches to repeat the gull lace pattern 9 times.  knit knit knit It was looking good if not a little big, but then again, you have to make it big so your beret is floppy, right?  Started decreasing even though the amount of yarn left seemed a little scant.  I had maybe 8 decrease rows left when the yarn ran out.

*Sigh

february-lady-beret-2

Bill didn’t want me to frog the hat after seeing all that work go into it.  He even suggested we find more yarn (we will see how long that lasts).  I however, really really wanted to frog that  bugger and knit it up smaller.  So I did.

Here my eyes look like a gold brown color, which they aren't usually.  In pics with the green sweater my eyes have a green outer ring.  Funny.

Here my eyes look like a gold brown color, which they aren't usually. In pics with the green sweater my eyes have a green outer ring. Funny.

I am not sure about the color, even if gold is supposed to be a good color on me.  I am, after all, an Autumn.😉

Oh yeah, I did actually check out Lake Tahoe.  Bill and I investigated the North Shore.  it was chilly out.

Do you recognize the hat on top of that cute head?

Do you recognize the hat on top of that cute head?

I am really trying to sneek up on those geese.  I did get within a few feet but they knew I was without bread to offer them.

I am really trying to sneek up on those geese. I did get within a few feet but they knew I was without bread to offer them.

Leave a Reply

