Traversing the Lands

Spring break has sprung and Bill and I spent the first week of it traversing California and Nevada.  Last Saturday we went to the Sonora Celtic Fair, which I expected to be more like the Renaissance Fair.  I was a little disappointed, what with the lack of Highland games and fun stuff.  We did see some good bands, but the most awesome part of the day actually occured outside of the Celtic Fair.  Walking through Main Street of Sonora was the MOST AWESOME YARN SHOP!  Bill, being the sweetest guy, let me wander around in there until I was contented and then he even ran my yarn back to the car so I wouldn’t have to carry it around all day.  The yarn shop, for those of you who are interested, is called By Hand Yarn.  If you are within a hundred miles you should go. Seriously.  It used to be a pharmacy, like in the 1800’s and has wonderful hand built cabinets and all these awesome little details from the original building.

Bill is being very patient while I buy yarn and gawk at even more yarn.

Bill is being very patient while I buy yarn and gawk at even more yarn.

We finally got to the Celtic Fair and wandered around a bit.  But more important, lots of great pictures!

Using a drop spindle at fair.

Using a drop spindle at fair.


Crack me up, a kilt couple!

Crack me up, a kilt couple!

We saw a hammered dulcimer player, who had taken Metallica music and was playing it on a dulcimer with an amp plugged into it.  I can’t describe how awesome and amazing it was to hear nor can I describe the crowd gathered around him with their mouths agape but rest assured, it was just about the most breathtaking music, hauntingly familiar and beautiful.  Scott Williams, check him out.

Very last, we hung out with a group who had brought their Irish Wolfhounds, who are such nice, massive huge animals.  I got a great picture of one, which I plan to make into a drawing and send to the group, the Northern California Irish Wolfhound Group.

Irish Wolfhound

Irish Wolfhound

Now my sister (Hi!) is saying that she is checking my blog more often than I actually write, so I’m going to save the stuff from Lake Tahoe and the ridiculous amount of knitting I’ve accomplished since spring break started a week ago for another time.

Leave a Reply

