It’s My Birthday and I’ll Make Cupcakes if I Want to.

So my birthday is today (the 18th) I’m turning 29 and not too thrilled about it.  I wasn’t allowed to celebrate birthdays growing up (a religious thing) and now that I am allowed to celebrate birthdays and holidays its still weird, I think it always will be that way.  I just feel a bit like an outsider all the time.

At our school, when it’s your birthday you bring goodies for the other staff.  So I made cupcakes.

My ability to frost improved on the second set of cupcakes.

I am not happy about my birthday.  I’m 29 (I know, go ahead and tell me I”m young) and living alone in Butthole California with a chihuahua (who I love).  I haven’t even gotten to knit this week yet.  grr.

So knitters, I could do with a little cheering up.  The cupcakes aren’t doing it.

5 thoughts on “It’s My Birthday and I’ll Make Cupcakes if I Want to.

  1. 29 is tough. For me, 30 was the worst. I was not married and not even in a relationship. Not at all where I thought I would be at that age. Hang in there – it gets better. Much better!
    Start yourself a new knitting project, your cupcakes look fabulous and you have an adorable little Chihuahua! I found you because of your wonderful Chihuahua sweater pattern.

  2. Hey I’m 59! Being on the cusp of one of those “O” years is never easy – 30, 40, 50, 60 don’t want to think past that.

    I used to think that 40 was decrepid and I would never have to live that long; I would certainly die first.

    You have boyfriend, dear Darby and your art and knitting. Not bad really. My friend turned 30 this year — hated it! I think you just need to do some knitting.

    peace, Francesca

  3. Thank you for your comment. I like your blog and will definitely be checking this out. Sorry to hear you are feeling down about turning 29. Lots of my friends have been turning 30, and whilst the men are all celebrating, the women all seem to be being quiet about it, which I think is a shame.
    Gorgeous looking cupcakes by the way.

    MTG (creativebits.wordpress.com)

  4. I have to say, I think it’s absolutely FANTASTIC that you celebrate your birthday now! I’m the room mom at school and there’s one little girl in class who doesn’t get to participate in any of that stuff (for religious reasons) and I always feel so sad for her on birthdays and holidays, you can see the disappointment on her face.😦 I always just end up leaving class hoping that when she grows up she’ll celebrate like she really wants to. I had to physically restrain myself from sneaking her a Halloween treat bag…

    FWIW, I LOVE being 30. (although I’m officially 32 now) Something about turning 30, changed my perception of myself. I stand up for myself a little more, buy the cashmere yarn I really want, and eat dessert first if I want to. There’s something so incredible about growing more wise as a woman, and 30 sets you free of the “she’s in her twenties” eyeroll that some people would try to dismiss you with.

    Enjoy 29, but start preparing for your 30th birthday party now! I had a red dress party, complete with invitations that said “18…with 12 years experience” made all my friends wear red dresses (which came from realizing how few people had a red dress after I threw my mom a divorce party with the same required attire).

    In all seriousness though, celebrate you! Celebrate all you learned in the last 12 months and how special your little Chihuahua is, etc! Hell I’d be doing cartwheels if I were you, you can knit sweaters… sweaters!!! That’s surely worth celebrating your existence🙂

Leave a Reply

